CTN Athlete Spotlight: Amanda Torres

27 Apr

10670140_856666501918_6038636317167273509_n

 

1. Tell us a little about your journey and decision to compete in your first powerlifting meet.

I joined my first gym in 2012 weighing in at roughly 230 lbs. At this point in time my only goal was to get the weight off and become healthier.

I started with cardio because that was the only thing I had a clue about and thought weight lifting was for men (HA!). I absolutely hated cardio and took it upon myself to find another way to lose weight.

 

unnamed

Before and after pictures of Amanda’s amazing transformation. Check out those medals Amanda racked up at her first powerlifting meet.

 

I was told about free weight lifting programs available on the internet. I followed a workout program template initially and became more comfortable with lifting weights.

After getting familiar with the weights in 2013 I had a trainer at the gym show me the various powerlifting moves (squat, bench press, and deadlift) and I immediately wanted to know more and get better.

I attended my first powerlifting meet as a spectator shortly thereafter.

Observing the level of camaraderie between lifters and watching the athletes approach the platform with adrenaline and unmatched focus only to lift big weight motivated me to ultimately compete one day.

I was determined to make it to the platform.

I kept training hard and finally hired my two coaches in September of 2014 and decided on competing in February 2015.

On February 28th I competed in the 165 lb weight class and took first place in the open and juniors division with a 726 lb total at the USPA Lifting for a Miracle meet.

That day I became immediately hooked and I look forward to competing again.

Amanda pulling some big weight at her powerlifting debut.

Amanda pulling some big weight at her powerlifting debut.

 

2. What motivates you each day?

I think what motivates me each day is my competitive nature.

I am constantly trying to be better than I was yesterday.

I envision myself becoming better and better each day, so I have to make it a reality and just get out there and do it.

3. What did you enjoy most about your journey to the platform?

What I really enjoyed most about my journey was seeing my progress and how my hard work was paying off.

Sometimes I would get discouraged and wondered if this path was really for me, but then I would see a hint of progress and it would set me straight.

The feeling of putting in countless hours in the gym and balancing my nutrition while seeing my plan unfold beautifully is indescribable.

4. What, in your opinion, was the biggest obstacle you faced during your transformation?

The biggest obstacle I faced during my transformation was really trusting the process and staying mentally strong.

I had so many days where I would look in the mirror and question if my programming and nutrition was even working.

I would get down in the dumps and feel defeated.

The next day I would have to pick myself back up and tell myself I could do it and push even harder.

Keeping your head in the game and having faith in the process is important to achieve that desired return on investment.

10993086_928626873843933_1246889936331615029_n

Visualization: Seeing where you are going and looking back at how far you have come.

5. Describe your experience in working with coaches Tyler and Mike from Cornerstone.

Working with Tyler and Mike has seriously been the best decision I’ve made since taking my health and fitness into my own hands.

They have been there every step of the way for me and have really taken my strength to the next level.

They both respond quickly and really take the time to answer any questions I have involving my training, nutrition, or personal questions.

I am so grateful to call them my coaches and good friends.

6. What advice do you have for beginner and intermediate lifters thinking about competing in powerlifting?

My advice for anyone considering competing in powerlifting would be to absolutely go for it with all you have.

Powerlifting has really changed my life for the better and gives me a purpose to train and goals to work for.

Train hard, trust the process, and be proud of the end product.

7. Any last motivational words

“Strength and growth come only through continuous effort and struggle.” – Napoleon Hill

Leave a Reply

