Q&A with Kayla Lindsay: Enjoying the Journey

11 Sep

1512552_746009708784685_442087892014183505_n

 

1. Tell us a little about how you got started in competing.

This was a long journey that started with changing my eating habits in my final year of undergrad. From that point on, seemingly small changes morphed into major lifestyle changes. And here I am today.

My journey dates back to my college days. I was living and breathing the college life. Parties, booze, and less than stellar food selections were staples in my life throughout the week.

One day, it hit me. I wanted to make changes. I wanted to feel better about myself.

I started by making small manageable dietary changes and then it just kept evolving. As I continued to change my ways,  I fell in love with health and fitness. From 2009-2013, I adopted a healthier lifestyle, found passion, strength, and formed friendships in pole fitness.

Over the course of those years, I went from 212lbs to 150lbs.

I can vividly remember conversing with a fellow pole fitness competitor at the pole fitness studio about bodybuilding.  The same girl convinced me to compete with her in a local bodybuilding (figure) show. I did a little research and said, “Count me in, challenge accepted.”

I had 12-weeks to hit the stage and I couldn’t wait to try this new.

Another successful season later here we are. I am healthier, confident, motivated, and inspiring others along the way.

2. Your stage presence is uniquely unmatched. You certainly have an aura while on stage. What goes through your mind when you finally step foot onto that stage after countless weeks of contest prep and precision training and nutrition?

 

10516645_10101870698896433_6811450096859713810_n

 

Well, there are about a million thoughts going through my head before even a foot steps across the stage.

But when the time comes to line up, I get in the zone. I know that there is nothing more I can do. I’ve put in my 150% to get to this day and regardless of the placing outcome, I’ve brought the best me to that stage.

Right before I step on stage, I remind myself that this is the time and place I get to show off all my hard work.

All the sacrifice. All the late night gym sessions. The grueling high intensity interval sessions. The entire journey. The destination.

The gauntlet has been thrown down and now it’s just time to go out and dominate. And I like to dominate.

3. What was the biggest obstacle you faced during contest prep and how did you manage?

The biggest obstacle is not with diet or training. In fact,  diet and training is the easy part. The hard part is the mental game. Waking up morning after morning for months and looking in the mirror and becoming your own critic.

Then there’s social media or what I like to call the “social lens” of comparing yourself to your competitors. We all do it. I constantly had to remind myself that I am my ONLY competition and I can only train to be my best self.

Yes when competition day comes you are being compared to other girls, but there is NOTHING that you can do except give your 100% to training and bring your best package, the rest is up to the judges.

I am thankful for my coaches and friends who constantly remind me of this year-round.

We train with a purpose and we train to bring the best physical package possible.

 

10584015_10101981440204963_1874771574449145999_n

4. Describe your experience working with Cornerstone Training and Nutrition coaches, Tyler and Mike.

Amazing. Not only are Tyler and Mike great coaches, they are two of my close friends.

Their educational background and experience is something of a rare find in a coaching team. They inspire confidence and always keep me motivated. I have been able to turn to them during some of my toughest days and they always know what to say to pick me back up.

I am thankful for their coaching but more than thankful for their friendship.

 

1912414_10153926782940002_1579234058_n

5. You are very driven and goal oriented. How do you maintain focus and stay motivated on accomplishing goals?

As I said earlier I like to dominate and put my best foot forward.

I am an an extremely competitive person in every aspect. When I set a goal for myself, I achieve it. I like to motivate and inspire others and I get gratification helping others reach their full potential.

As a health educator, leading by example is very important to me.

6. What advice do you have for those looking to venture out on a life goal?

First, find what motivates you. In order to accomplish a goal, the motivation has to come from within.

You can be inspired or motivated by others, but when it gets down to the real grind,  you have to depend on yourself.

So whatever goal you set for yourself make sure it is YOUR goal.

Second, support is important. Support networks including your family, peer, financial, and social support. Stress can be a goal killer. So having people in your social circle that support your goals is key.

Once you get started with your goal, you do not want to lose that momentum so always surround yourself with people who lift you up not bring you down.

Lastly, believe in yourself. Remember that you are always good enough and what you believe you can achieve.

Enjoy the journey. Embrace the destination.

Leave a Reply

